Tuesday, May 8, 2012

I Just Love Being a Missionary


May 7, 2012

Ok, I will send you another carta en espanol. I am excited that you are learning Spanish because when we go down to Mexico, you will be able to speak it! (P.S. We’re going to Mexico during our Texas trip. Just so you know. The bishop’s daughter K____ is taking us.)

So this week has been great! I just love being a missionary! I still get those moments some times when I realize again that I am a missionary. Like today, I was cleaning the sink and I was looking down the drain and thought to myself, I am in South Texas right now, serving a mission. What?!? So crazy! I love this experience more than anything! O man!

So yesterday was Fast Sunday and it was great! President and Sister Trayner were at our first ward. I also just love to see them and just get a big hug from Sister Trayner. They are wonderful. I bore my testimony really simple that God loves that ward and is very pleased and I don't know if it helped anyone but hopefully. In the Spanish ward, there were 4 baby blessings, including little A_____. It was really cute. (I still need to take a picture with him! Sorry!) In our last ward I sat behind the S_____ family because we were talking before and during the whole meeting, I was trying to bribe M____ to bare her testimony. She said she was going to tell Bishop, which she did, and he just laughed. Really hard in fact. I love that ward, haha. So after church we went over to M_____'s for some food because she wanted to take pictures with us because she finally has her camera. So funny. Then we went over to Bishop W____'s house to drop back off his keys and they were having a youth fireside so we stayed and said hello for a sec. We talked to Sister B_____ for a bit because Brother B_____ has been sick. So sad. (By the way, I am sending you pictures today and the picture with me and the 4 blonde boys are the B______ kids. I LOVE THEM!)

During the week we had two youth come out, K____ and M_____, so we went on splits. It was really fun so we have decided to take two youth out with us once a week for splits! It should be really cool! I was with K____ and we just knocked while M_____ and Sister Ramos taught a lesson. I wanted Sister Ramos to take the step of teaching and taking the lead so it was a great experience.

We had splits on Saturday with the sisters in Edinburg (Google Earth THAT dad haha). It was fun. I stayed in our area and worked with Sister Cortes which was fun because I took her spot in Mission East. She knew everything about the area so we didn't waste any time! I learned a lot from her and our contacts were GREAT because I love asking questions about people and she loves to testify so the two of us together were great! I think we'll be companions one day.

O another funny thing at church, I sat by one of the assistant's recent converts and her son who is 3 and he was CRAZY! Something interesting about South Texas is that if you have blue eyes and long eyelashes, you are just mesmerizing. He sat next to me and just kept trying to touch my eyes. I couldn't stop laughing because it was HYSTERICAL. This kid wanted to touch my eyes! He got really close a few times too! O man! Then he kept taking my hand sanitizer. O well, I have 5 more at home.

As far as people go, L_____ hasn’t been to church in awhile because her family has been coming over to build a fence. We went over last night and told her we are coming over on Saturday to help so she can come to church on Sunday. I think her family will still be over so we are going to work on getting them to come too. F_____ has been working so we need to work on getting her back to church. It is SO hard to see them not come for a few weeks! And Mo____, Mo____, Mo____, Mo____.  I say Mo____, JUST GET BAPTIZED! YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO! Ah well. We are trying to work with them and el obispo to help them get over whatever is holding them back. He wore a suit to church yesterday which was cool because he HATES suits. I chased him down after Sacrament as Sister Ramos is like, "What is going on? I don't get it." I said MO____! You didn't even wear a suit to your wedding, what is up? He said, I don't know, I just felt like it today. So I think he is starting to really get into it. Anyway, time is up but I love you all! I will call on Friday for 2-3 minutes to figure out when it works best for the call this weekend. WEIRD HUH?!?!?!

Kate

No comments:

Post a Comment