March 26, 2012
I am so happy dad got an accordion and I can't wait to get the recorder back! I want a really good song and I will show it to everyone! They will love that!
So this week has been interesting. We had exchanges and I was in the other sisters’ area with Sister Bocanegra. It was so fun because I spoke only Spanish, ALL DAY! To get our capitan award, we have to do it 24/7 for 4 days. It was hard but 1 day down! Our capitan is a Spanish award. Being that our mission is bilingual, we need a little help and motivation with the Spanish so we have a whole program for our Spanish study. It is really neat. Anywho, it was fun because we had an English lesson and I just kind of sat back and let Sister Bocanegra teach and she would look at me like I don't know what to say and I would just look back and smile, inserting testimonies here and there. HAHA! She didn't like it but afterwards she thanked me because I made her do it. And Sister Cooper did that with Sister Ramos too! So then last night we contacted a bit and I let Sister Ramos do ALL the talking. Afterwards we went to I____ and M____'s for lasagna and it was super yummy! I love them so much! I told them that they are going to get sealed in the temple one day and they said, you'll be there right, and I said ABSOLUTELY! They are the best ever and we have a lot of work to do but they are progressing so much! I love them!
O guess what else I did yesterday?!? I BORE MY TESTIMONY IN THE SPANISH WARD! Yes I read it, but I still did it! I was so happy! (Another capitan requirement) They lowered the pulpit though after I had started and I don't know why I have bad reactions but I just stopped and said "O, man!" and everyone laughed. I wish I controlled my reactions sometimes. Crazy Sister Giles.
This week has been crazy because we don't find, but when we do find, we start having great lessons then they tell us that they are members! WHAT!!! Yup, there is a whole group of inactive members that no one knows about! It is crazy! We just keep finding them and helping them to want to come back to the church. We met a guy named J____, 21, and he has been baptized since he was like 12. His mom is super curious about everything. She isn't baptized so hey, there is potential there!
Yes mom, M____ got baptized on March 2nd! I will have to send you pictures today too! Good thing I just remembered that. :) haha. She is doing AMAZING! AND she is going to have her baby within the next week or two! I can't wait!!!!! Little A____ is going to be so cute!!!!! It is so funny because we have been able to develop such a good relationship with her. She is the best.
Our big family is having some struggles, mainly that the rest of their family is Catholic so they don't want them to convert. We are just at a stand still with them right now but I think they will get baptized eventually, just maybe not by us. :(
Everything else is good! We are just working hard and having fun! I love being a missionary and can't think of anywhere on the earth that I would rather be! P.S. I already have crazy tan lines. :( I think they are great though!!!
LOVE YOU ALL!!!
Kate
No comments:
Post a Comment